Passion.

Who’s excited to go to [insert the place that you are employed] every morning?

-Quote of the day, asked by one of my supervisors at work.

**You can insert “NYU” in the bracket**

So, I was having a conversation with one of my supervisors the other day with my colleagues, and he asked, “Who’s excited to go to work every morning?” Faced with a sudden question, we all remained silent, partly because we were confused. Then, he added, “Because I am excited to go to work every morning. It makes me happy.” 

Then, I thought, How lucky is he?

He said:

Be passionate about something, and find something that you really like to do early on. If you are passionate about something but wasn’t successful, can people say that you are unhappy? No. You would say, “My life is not what people would normally use as a ‘success story,’ but I am happy because I chose something that truly excited me.”

How we measure “passion” and “happiness” is another question, but people know what makes them happy, right? Or, I certainly hope that we all do!

So, before I go to bed tonight, I ask rhetorically, “Am I excited to study what I am studying now?”

P.S.

There are many things in life that will catch your eye, but only a few will catch your heart…pursue those

And that is quote by Michael Nolan.

Photo credit: spitzer.caltech.edu

P.P.S. There are infinite possibilities. You just have to pick the right one that will catch your heart. (Sorry I sound obnoxiously nonchalant here, but I am also one of those people who do think this one of the hardest, if not the hardest, thing to do in life!)

Leave a Reply

